Somethings very wrong: where are the jackdaws and insects?

Susie Finch
(site admin)
👍

Fri 4 Jul 2008, 19:06

Malcolm, we have bats, mice, rats, flies, wasps, bees and frogs to name but a few. I am not very good at wild life, but we do seem to have plenty here.

mandy
👍

Fri 4 Jul 2008, 07:11

we still have a few bats flying around and i chap i know has them in his loft.ive seen no ladybirds but loads of bloody flys.

Malcolm Blackmore
👍

Fri 4 Jul 2008, 00:28

A month late but finally signs of some moths - got a collection orbiting the computer monitor now. Almost like we missed a complete hatching and reproduction cycle of the more common species up here in The Green area... its about the right gap in time for a cycle. Still no sign of any ladybirds in any numbers, either nymphs or adults. Again seems like a complete cycle has gone missing. But were some swifts screeking about at dusk but the bats have not been seen (had a collection of about 3 species quartering the back gardens, don't know what type, but distinct size, shape and flight pattern differences so know they were different species and they were around in June last couple of years).

mandy
👍

Mon 30 Jun 2008, 23:19

been there done that we've had those here aready about 6 months ago now when all are car tyres we're being slashed. so you can keep them.

Malcolm Blackmore
👍

Mon 30 Jun 2008, 16:22

Sorry, I'd really not meant to post that one at all and thought I had just cancelled backwards but must have hit post key...I was in a pretty bad state with so little sleep and in a LOT of "discomfort" which had been going on for some days (and still is, didn't manage to get off to sleep until about 6 am last night). Alas my emergency fallback of sleeping tablets no longer seem to be working. If anyone has any ideas of anything better than zopiclone let me know! I've clearly adapted, even though I try to avoid taking them more than 2 or so times a week :-(

roger short
👍

Mon 30 Jun 2008, 14:32