URGENT PUBLIC HEALTH WARNING FOR CHARLBURY

Derek Collett
👍

Thu 18 Oct 2007, 11:37

Some workmen have been out this morning in Pooles Lane/Tanners Court seemingly pumping out sewage from underground, or at least it certainly smelled like it!

Jo Elliott
👍

Wed 17 Oct 2007, 15:40

Sewage was flowing again down Poole's Lane this morning - from a blocked drain just up from the corner with Fisher's Lane. It's stopped now without any Thames Water intervention this time.

John Stanley
👍

Sat 13 Oct 2007, 00:17

Although I am not a legal expert, I think there are three issues here.
1) It may be contrary to building regulations to connect downspouts from roofs into the sewers. These should really go into soakaways.
2) It is certainly not illegal to allow surface water to flow into the sewers. In fact, Thames Water invites its customers to claim a rebate if they undertake to prevent this happening - see paragraph on the reverse of Water Services Bills.
3) More serious, though, is the fact that, for whatever reason, sewers are being allowed to overflow with the contents ending up in the storm drains, and, eventually, in diluted form, in the Evenlode, no doubt. This certainly is illegal!

Ian Lewis
👍

Fri 12 Oct 2007, 19:45

It is against water by-laws to connect storm water into a foul water sewer.

This used to be quite common and before privatisation it was quite common for houses to be checked and asked to ensure that storm water didnt go into foul and vice-versa.

Unfortunately many older houses only have a foul sewer and by design or accident (overflowing road gutters,overflowing soakaways etc) if the storm water gets into the foul drain then the foul drain cannot cope and overflows itself (as seen recently in Crawborough and Pooles Lane). If due to the amount of debris dragged into the foul sewer it remains partially blocked then you will get subsequent events with a much smaller runoff volume.

Dave Oates
👍

Fri 12 Oct 2007, 19:22