Charlbury crossroads

Gareth Epps
👍 2

Fri 7 Oct 2022, 11:15

At risk of labouring the point, there is regular HGV traffic through Charlbury other than tractors, Co-Op delivery vehicles and event traffic.

There is some kerbstone damage along the pavement edge already, I see.  However, as James has said, the objectives around the crossroads relate to road safety.  The volume of heavy traffic and its speed present a significant risk to pedestrians and cyclists; the left turn issues in particular are an object lesson to the challenges faced by cyclists.

Christine Battersby
👍 1

Fri 7 Oct 2022, 11:00 (last edited on Fri 7 Oct 2022, 11:03)

Gareth, I'm not an expert on HGV restrictions, and if you say that working agricultural machinery and double decker buses (which do exceed the 7.5 weight limit) will be exempt from any proposed weight ban, I will believe you. But then what's the point of the proposed restrictions? This is what most of the large traffic is, except in relation to Cornbury -- and Wilderness, of course. 

As for lorries with drivers shopping at Fiveways, I haven't seen that. But I have very recently seen some parked near the Enstone Crossroads with the driver and passenger then walking down to the Coop. 

Gareth Epps
👍 2

Fri 7 Oct 2022, 10:33

Christine, it is perfectly possible to restrict through lorry traffic without affecting farm vehicles.  And unless you can tell us differently, a ban on HGVs would not block buses, or smaller vehicles using the route between Enstone and Witney.  I suspect the economic benefit from passing trade is unlikely to be catastrophic; I’ve not seen an articulated lorry parked up at Fiveways Stores for a while

Christine Battersby
👍 5

Fri 7 Oct 2022, 09:46 (last edited on Fri 7 Oct 2022, 09:47)

Rather baffled by the suggestion that Charlbury residents might want to campaign for a HGV weight limit of 7.5 tons at the Enstone crossroads.