The Bell

Laura k Pearce
👍 12

Wed 23 Dec 2020, 16:51

Hi All,

Although I'm afraid I cannot shed much light on the current situation concerning The Bell and it's Future with Greene King (or not). They are currently seeking new Tennant's to take over the lease, and as far as I am aware no sales of the building or planning applications are in the pipe line. 

Totally agree that any re development of The Bell would be a tragedy and would be so lovely to see it back where it was pre mid nineties.

This is an awful time for hospitality and as a long standing member of staff at The Bell, I am concerned for the place and the trade in general and of course for the job I have been doing for many years. I ask please to try and avoid too much speculation for the time being, this is simply as it stands at the moment a six year lease coming to an end and a new one being sought by somebody new. If our current situation will allow such things to happen (given tier 4 announcement today )

Please just stay mindful to this & have a merry Christmas all.

Liz Leffman
👍 3

Wed 23 Dec 2020, 16:39

Yes, it is in the conservation area.

Charlie M
👍 6

Wed 23 Dec 2020, 15:48 (last edited on Wed 23 Dec 2020, 15:48)

Surely The Bell - and its garden too - is in the area of Charlbury that is protected from demolition and re-development? If not, then it should be.

And I am sure that - if it came to it - there would be a lot of support for a local buyout of The Bell. Even though it is owned by Greene King, those that have run it over the last few years have mostly run it in a *good* way, catering for the locals, as well as casting their net further, as they surely must. This for me is in contrast to the other "restaurant" in the vicinity, which I do not use.

Forewarned is forearmed, as they say. Let us keep a careful eye on things...

Liz Leffman
👍 7

Wed 23 Dec 2020, 14:58