Earthworks?

Hans Eriksson
👍

Tue 24 Mar 2020, 15:26

Thanks Christine. Generally I am generally in favour of what that architect does especially compared to what gets built these days. Woodstock road springs to mind. On this occasion they have obviously gone OTT but as an architect I guess you have to follow the client's directive, 

Why don't I think it will be built? If you search for St Johns House Akeman Street Ramsden you can see a long history of applications for that site stretching back possibly even to 1995! IMHO it would have been built by now unless there still is a cunning plan to try to flog it unbuilt with planning permission. But it didn't work last time in about 2015 if I remember correctly.

Christine Battersby
👍 1

Tue 24 Mar 2020, 14:47

Hans, I hope you are right & it never does get built. I see it has been taken off the market right now. 

The whole of the property description was beyond satire, but I was particularly struck by the bit that said its ballroom was inspired by The Great Gatsby! (What happens when novels that are designed as critiques of excessive consumerism are picked up via  Hollywood and presented as aspirational ideals.)

Sadly, I fear it is intended as a private home, not as a hotel. There are plenty of examples of such private residences on the website of the architectural practice cited as designing it: https://adamarchitecture.com/projects/

Brian Murray
👍 2

Tue 24 Mar 2020, 14:26

Having followed Andrew's link, I had to check that I wasn't a week behind and that it was an April Fool's story. Tacky, tacky, tacky - it makes the Bishops Avenue in Hampstead begin to look tasteful.

Hans Eriksson
👍

Tue 24 Mar 2020, 12:04

I've followed this one over the years. I think he's applied for planning permission 3 or 4 times over the years, each time before the 3 year expiry, and each time for a larger building. At one stage he was advertising it with planning permission only for a lot of money.