Buying Topsoil in Bulk -- suggestions?

Jon Carpenter
(site admin)
👍

Sat 28 Feb 2015, 22:42

Applegarth garden centre at Chippy do (cubic metre? tonne?) bags of several variations on the theme of compost and topsoil. It might be worth having a look. Maybe it would make sense to mix compost and topsoil, in view of what has been said below? But I'm no expert.

Simon Walker
👍

Sat 28 Feb 2015, 21:32

Bear in mind too that there's a difference between real topsoil and 'topsoil' that has been made up from recycled soil-making material that may well have come from other peoples' skips. That's not to say that it's not OK, but it's not the real thing. We sourced a couple of trailer-loads of this from Hickmans, and it's been fine for flowerbeds.

Matt Harrington
👍

Sat 28 Feb 2015, 20:09

Hi Kat - I recentlty bought a tonne of topsoil from AWBS Yarnton - I think I paid £67 delivered - appears to be excellent quality - also bought 2 tonnes about 6 months ago that was also good stuff - it seems to be competitively priced for what you get - you can call them on 01865 842574

Jenny Chambers
👍

Fri 27 Feb 2015, 17:32

This thread could almost support a website of its own!