Solicitors for a Power of Attorney

Christine Battersby
👍 2

Tue 23 Jul, 11:03

Thank you, Liz. I had wondered about contacting Geoff. Was hoping for feedback from someone who had used him for this kind of thing. Your response very helpful. 

Liz Puttick
👍 1

Tue 23 Jul, 09:28

Hi Christine, we're about to do the very same (Power of Attorney) with a Chippy solicitor who you also know Geoff Saul. For anyone else looking for an excellent local lawyer (and pillar of the community!) we highly recommend Geoff's services.

Christine Battersby
👍 1

Mon 22 Jul, 14:02

Thank you, Hannen and others.

But I am still wanting advice about local solicitors who do LPAs please. Hannen sent me useful advice by email about the (high) charges listed by Woodstock Solicitors, but at least they list their charges. Most local solicitors do not! 

Hannen Beith
👍 2

Mon 22 Jul, 12:48

I agree with all the posts here, and I am a retired solicitor!

Imo, most solicitors charge way over the odds for these.  The government website was designed to be layman friendly.  Once you've completed one it cleverly pre-populates the other with all the names and addresses, which saves a lot of time and eliminates the possibility of inaccuracies.

Simon is right about getting them signed and dated in the right order.  I used to get round that with people (who lived relatively locally) all signing and dating on the same day.  Never had a problem, and must have done close on 50.

Christine Battersby
👍 1

Mon 22 Jul, 12:24

Still looking for suggestions for solicitors for this please.

I can see that the government forms could be completely adequate in many circumstances, but I need advice. I also want to have legal backup for those I appoint as attorneys. 

Simon Walker
👍 2

Mon 22 Jul, 12:12