The wall at the Bell - refused

Katie Ewer
👍 28

Mon 15 Jan, 14:19

I don't understand why people can't separate these two things out though. Yes, the wall is nice and fine and looks better than before, but it's not what permission was granted for. If we don't care about that, then why bother having a planning system at all? Why don't we just decide on what looks nice, irrespective of the cultural/historical/structural impact........?

Hans Eriksson
👍 6

Mon 15 Jan, 12:50

I think it is a nice wall. That appears to be immaterial - there is a breach of planning permission. Nothing else.

Paul D Jenkins
👍 9

Mon 15 Jan, 12:49 (last edited on Mon 15 Jan, 12:50)

Emily. You miss the point. Whilst I totally agree with you that building and then seeking retrospective approvals is not best practice it should not be an absolute prohibition to approval. Surely, it has to be on the merit of the application. As a Chartered Surveyor I am fully aware of the importance of reading all documentation. The test I referred to was hypothetical in testing whether it is better to have the wall in its current state or not. You appear to personalise this matter which I may suggest is more divisive. Well done. I think I have made my view clear so I won’t add anything further.

Mark Sulik
👍 6

Mon 15 Jan, 12:37

Oh dear ! A bit personal - heading for the debate section.  Other relevant topics on the forum have followed the same or similar route and alterations made during the process . It’s still a nice wall . Thought that when it was being constructed. If these are personal points and comments , then the best way to show your disapproval is not to frequent the places ! We are lucky to have these new facilities, efforts and concentration on how to provide the infrastructure ( parking ) should be the primary aim of the TC ? rather than the current tone being expressed in this topic.

It is a nice wall though …….. do you agree ?

Emily Algar
👍 14